Our Brewery
We make Beer. One step at a time.

Discover the process

1

Starting from scratch

Every week, around 25 tonnes of malt are delivered. The grain is stored in four 12-metre-high grain silos.

2

Day silo

The malt is carefully transferred to the day silo. First, it is cleaned and the malt dust is removed. It may be called the day silo, but the “Old Lady” is hard at work at night too. We run the brewery 24 hours a day to brew our six Valaisanne beers.

3

Wet mill

The malt is fed into the original 1967 wet mill, where it is mixed with Valais brewing water heated to 65°C. This process is known as mashing the malt.

4

Mashing

The mash is not brought up to temperature in the mash tun; instead it is heated in batches in a separate mash kettle. This stage of production is instrumental in giving the beer its flavour.

5

Lautering

After mashing, the solid and liquid parts of the mash are separated. The clear liquid is known as wort, and this is what is used to make the beer. The remaining part of the mash is the spent grain.

6

Boiling in the brewhouse

The next step takes place in our amazing “brewery kitchen” with its imposing brewing copper. The wort is boiled inside the copper, and the hops are added at this stage.

7

Whirlpool kettle

Next, the wort, which contains a lot of sugar, goes into the whirlpool kettle for its “spa” treatment, where it is left to rest, steam off and cool down.

8

Fermenting and storage cellar

Before the cooled brew goes into the fermentation tanks, the yeast is added. This converts the sugar into alcohol and carbon dioxide, and creates the beer’s lovely taste and delicious aroma. This “green” beer is kept in the fermentation tanks for one week, after which it is matured for a further three weeks in horizontal storage tanks. After every use, the tanks are cleaned by hand, which takes about an hour’s work in the cold storage cellar for each tank.

9

Filtration

Last but not least, the mature beer is passed through a modern filter system. Filtering removes clouding particles and yeast and hop residues to clarify the beer. Of course, our Bière de Cave, Pale Ale and Ämrich wheat beer do not go through this stage!

10

Kegging

Once filtering is complete, the final stage is to keg the beer in 20-, 30- and 50-litre kegs. Our automatic kegging system can fill up to 80 kegs an hour. Every single production stage, from adding the dry malt to ready-to-keg beer, is cherished with loving care and our passion for the fine art of brewing beer.

Notre brasserie
Fiers de notre bière. À chaque étape de sa fabrication.

Découvrez notre savoir-faire

1

Au commencement

Nous recevons chaque semaine 25 tonnes de malt. Cette céréale est stockée dans quatre silos de 12 mètres de haut.

2

Silo du jour

Le malt est acheminé avec ménagement jusqu’au silo du jour. Il y est ensuite nettoyé et séparé de sa balle. Ce n’est pas parce que nous avons un «silo du jour» que notre «vieille dame» ne fonctionne pas aussi pendant la nuit. Nous brassons en effet six variétés de Valaisanne, 24 heures sur 24.

3

Concasseur à malt

Le malt passe ensuite dans un concasseur datant de 1967, où il est mélangé à de l’eau provenant du Valais, chauffée à 65° C. Ce procédé s’appelle l’empâtage.

4

Décoction

Le mélange eau et malt n’est pas chauffé dans la cuve d’empâtage mais répartie en petites quantités dans une chaudière à trempes. Cette étape de la production opère une influence importante sur la saveur de la bière.

5

Filtration

Après la décoction, le liquide est séparé des éléments solides par filtration. C’est ce moût qui donnera naissance à la bière. Les résidus solides de la macération forment le marc.

6

Cuisson

La production continue dans les grandes cuves en cuivre de l’extraordinaire «cuisine» de la brasserie. Le moût y est cuit et additionné de houblon.

7

Whirlpool

C’est là que le moût fortement sucré subit une véritable cure de bien-être, qui le détend et le refroidit.

8

Cave de fermentation et de garde

La levure est ajoutée au moût refroidi, qui est stocké dans des cuves de fermentation. C’est là que les sucres se transforment en alcool et en gaz carbonique, que la bière développe sa saveur et ses arômes. La bière jeune reste une semaine dans les cuves de fermentation, puis trois semaines dans des tanks de garde. Après cela, les cuves sont nettoyées à la main, ce qui représente environ une heure par cuve dans la fraîcheur de la cave.

9

Filtration

Pour terminer, la bière passe par une installation de filtration perfectionnée, qui élimine les résidus troubles de levure et de houblon. La bière obtient ainsi sa clarté. Il est évident que notre Bière de Cave, la Pale Ale et l’Ämrich Weizen ne subissent pas ce traitement!

10

Mise en fûts

La bière est ensuite mise en fûts de 20, 30 ou 50 litres. Notre installation automatisée peut remplir jusqu’à 80 fûts par heure. Du malt brut à la mise en fûts, chaque étape de notre production illustre l’art de la brasserie au plus haut niveau.