Our Brewery
We make Beer. One step at a time.

Discover the process

1

Starting from scratch

Every week, around 25 tonnes of malt are delivered. The grain is stored in four 12-metre-high grain silos.

2

Day silo

The malt is carefully transferred to the day silo. First, it is cleaned and the malt dust is removed. It may be called the day silo, but the “Old Lady” is hard at work at night too. We run the brewery 24 hours a day to brew our six Valaisanne beers.

3

Wet mill

The malt is fed into the original 1967 wet mill, where it is mixed with Valais brewing water heated to 65°C. This process is known as mashing the malt.

4

Mashing

The mash is not brought up to temperature in the mash tun; instead it is heated in batches in a separate mash kettle. This stage of production is instrumental in giving the beer its flavour.

5

Lautering

After mashing, the solid and liquid parts of the mash are separated. The clear liquid is known as wort, and this is what is used to make the beer. The remaining part of the mash is the spent grain.

6

Boiling in the brewhouse

The next step takes place in our amazing “brewery kitchen” with its imposing brewing copper. The wort is boiled inside the copper, and the hops are added at this stage.

7

Whirlpool kettle

Next, the wort, which contains a lot of sugar, goes into the whirlpool kettle for its “spa” treatment, where it is left to rest, steam off and cool down.

8

Fermenting and storage cellar

Before the cooled brew goes into the fermentation tanks, the yeast is added. This converts the sugar into alcohol and carbon dioxide, and creates the beer’s lovely taste and delicious aroma. This “green” beer is kept in the fermentation tanks for one week, after which it is matured for a further three weeks in horizontal storage tanks. After every use, the tanks are cleaned by hand, which takes about an hour’s work in the cold storage cellar for each tank.

9

Filtration

Last but not least, the mature beer is passed through a modern filter system. Filtering removes clouding particles and yeast and hop residues to clarify the beer. Of course, our Bière de Cave, Pale Ale and Ämrich wheat beer do not go through this stage!

10

Kegging

Once filtering is complete, the final stage is to keg the beer in 20-, 30- and 50-litre kegs. Our automatic kegging system can fill up to 80 kegs an hour. Every single production stage, from adding the dry malt to ready-to-keg beer, is cherished with loving care and our passion for the fine art of brewing beer.

Unsere Brauerei
Wir machen Bier. Schön der Reihe nach.

Entdecke den Prozess

1

Ganz von vorne

Wöchentlich werden rund 25 Tonnen Malz angeliefert. Gelagert wird das Getreide in vier zwölf Meter hohen Silos.

2

Tagessilo

Das Malz wird schonend in das Tagessilo transportiert. Zunächst wird das Malz geputzt und dabei vom Malzstaub befreit. Das Tagessilo heisst zwar Tagessilo, doch die «alte Lady» läuft bei Weitem nicht nur tagsüber. Im 24-Stunden-Betrieb brauen wir sechs Valaisanne-Biersorten.

3

Nassschrot-
Mühle

Das Malz kommt in die original Nassschrotmühle von 1967, wo es mit 65° C warmem Walliser Brauwasser vermischt wird. Diesen Vorgang nennt man Einmaischen.

4

Maischen

Die Maische wird nicht im Maischbottich aufgeheizt, sondern portionenweise in der separaten Maischpfanne gekocht. Dieser Produktionsschritt prägt den Geschmack des späteren Biers wesentlich.

5

Läutern

Nach dem Maischvorgang werden die festen und die flüssigen Bestandteile der Würze getrennt. Die klare Flüssigkeit nennen wir Bierwürze und aus ihr entsteht das fertige Bier. Was von der Maische übrigbleibt, nennt sich Treber.

6

Kochen im Sudhaus

Weiter geht es in der sensationellen «Brauerei-Küche» mit ihrer imposanten, kupfernen Sudpfanne. In ihr wird die Bierwürze gekocht und nun wird auch der Hopfen dazugegeben.

7

Whirlpool

Anschliessend darf die stark zuckerhaltige Würze in den «Whirlpool». Und wie es sich für einen richtigen Wellness-Durchgang gehört, kann die Würze hier so richtig entspannen, ausdampfen und cool werden.

8

Gär- und Lagerkeller

Bevor der gekühlte Sud nun in die Gärtanks gelangt, wird die Hefe zugegeben. Diese verwandelt den Zucker in Alkohol, Kohlensäure, guten Geschmack und feines Aroma. Das Jungbier bleibt eine Woche in den Gärtanks und danach weitere drei Wochen in den liegenden Lagertanks. Nach jeder Benutzung werden die Tanks von Hand gereinigt, was pro Stück rund eine Stunde Arbeit in der Kälte der Lagerkeller bedeutet.

9

Filtration

Last but not least fliesst das fast fertige Bier durch eine moderne Filteranlage. Beim Filtrieren werden Trübungspartikel und Restbestandteile von Hefe und Hopfen entfernt und die gewünschte Klarheit des Biers wird erreicht. Unser Zwickel, Pale Ale, Ämrich Weizen durchlaufen diese Stufe natürlich nicht!

10

Abfüllen

Nun, da alles klar ist, geht es abschliessend ans Abfüllen in 20-, 30- oder 50-Liter-Fässer. Die automatische Fassabfüllanlage schafft davon bis zu 80 Fässer pro Stunde. In jedem einzelnen Produktionsschritt vom trockenen Malz bis zum abgefüllten Bier stecken unser Handwerk und unsere Leidenschaft für die hohe Kunst des Bierbrauens.